Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

Please note that communications through Trustee email accounts are considered public records under Government Code Sections 6250-6276.

Judy Bullockus, President
Mission Viejo Resident
Represents Trustee Area 7, which covers portions of Rancho Santa Margarita, Mission Viejo, and Coto de Caza. First appointed to the Board in June 2017 to assume duties of outgoing Board Member. She was elected in 2018 for a term ending in 2022.

Schools represented are:

  • Arroyo Vista K-8 School
  • Bathgate Elementary School
  • Castille Elementary School
  • Philip Reilly Elementary School
  • Tijeras Creek Elementary School
  • Newhart Middle School
  • Tesoro High School

Send Email Send Email 

Judy Bullockus

Krista Castellanos, Vice President
Aliso Viejo or Laguna Niguel Resident
Represents Trustee Area 5, which covers a portion of Aliso Viejo and Laguna Niguel.

Schools represented are:

  • Don Juan Avila Elementary School
  • Canyon Vista Elementary School
  • Laguna Niguel Elementary School
  • Oak Grove Elementary School
  • Wood Canyon Elementary School
  • Aliso Viejo Middle School
  • Don Juan Avila Middle School
  • Aliso Niguel High School

Send Email Send Email

Krista Castellanos

Gila Jones, Clerk
San Juan Capistrano Resident
Represents Trustee Area 6, which covers portions of Mission Viejo, Laguna Niguel, and San Juan Capistrano. First elected to the Board in 2014. Re-elected in 2018 for a term ending in 2022. 

Schools represented are:

  • Marian Bergeson Elementary School
  • Del Obispo Elementary School
  • Carl Hankey K-8 School
  • Kinoshita Elementary School
  • San Juan Elementary School
  • Viejo Elementary School
  • Marco Forster Middle School
  • Niguel Hills Middle School
  • Capistrano Valley High School
  • Junipero Serra High School

Send Email Send Email | Tel: (949) 371-6662

Gila Jones

Pamela Braunstein, Board Member
Ladera Ranch Resident
Represents Trustee Area 2, which covers portions of San Juan Capistrano, and the areas of Ladera Ranch, Las Flores, Rancho Mission Viejo, and Coto de Caza. First elected to the Board in 2020 for a term ending in 2024. 

Schools represented are:

  • Harold Ambuehl Elementary School
  • Chaparral Elementary School
  • Esencia K-8 School
  • Ladera Ranch Elementary School
  • Las Flores Elementary School
  • Oso Grande Elementary School
  • Wagon Wheel Elementary School
  • Ladera Ranch Middle School
  • Las Flores Middle School
  • San Juan Hills High School

Send Email Send Email 

Pamela Braunstein

Lisa Davis, Board Member 
San Clemente Resident
Represents Trustee Area 3, which covers San Clemente.  First elected to the Board in 2020 for a term ending in 2024. 

Schools represented are:

  • Truman Benedict Elementary School
  • Concordia Elementary School
  • Marblehead Elementary School
  • Clarence Lobo Elementary School
  • Vista del Mar Elementary School
  • Bernice Ayer Middle School
  • Vista del Mar Middle School
  • San Clemente High School

Send Email Send Email

Lisa Davis

Amy Hanacek, Board Member
Dana Point Resident
Represents Trustee Area 1, which covers portions of San Juan Capistrano, San Clemente and Dana Point including Capistrano Beach. First elected to the Board in 2012.  Re-elected in 2016 and again in 2020 for a term ending in 2024. 

Schools represented are:

  • R.H. Dana Elementary School
  • R.H. Dana Exceptional Needs Facility (ENF)
  • Palisades Elementary School
  • Las Palmas Elementary School
  • Shorecliffs Middle School

Send Email Send Email

Amy Hanacek

Martha McNicholas, Board Member
Laguna Niguel Resident
Represents Trustee Area 4, which covers portions of Laguna Niguel and Dana Point. First elected in 2014.  She was re-elected in 2018 for a term ending in 2022.

Schools represented are:

  • Hidden Hills Elementary School
  • John S. Malcom Elementary School
  • Moulton Elementary School
  • George White Elementary School
  • Dana Hills High School

Send Email Send Email

Martha McNicholas
CUSD Board Room
Board Meetings

All Regular Board of Trustee Meetings begin at 7:00 p.m.  Board Workshops begin at 6:00 p.m. and are approximately 2 hours in length. Meetings are held in the District Office Board Room at 33122 Valle Road, San Juan Capistrano, California 92675. Refer to the current schedule below.

View or Print the Board Meeting Schedule:

Back to Top

Student Adviser

Per BP 9150, Student Adviser to the Board, a CUSD student is appointed for a one-year term by the Board of Trustees. The Student Adviser may provide input on matters pertaining to students' ideas, viewpoints, and reactions, to the educational program. The student adviser may cast a preferential vote on all matters except those subject to closed session discussion.

2020-21 Student Adviser:
Anchal Bhaskar, Senior, ANHS
View CUSD Insider Story
Send Email Send Email

Back to Top

Invite Us

CUSD welcomes invitations for the Board of Trustees of Capistrano Unified School District and individual trustees to participate in and represent the Board at events. To invite the board or a specific trustee, please email the Communications Office at least one month prior to the event. Your request will be processed and followed up with you as soon as possible.  

Back to Top


My School Locator logo

Use the My School Locator tool  to identify the CUSD schools in boundary areas:

My School Locator all you need is the address


Please contact the CUSD main office at (949) 234-9200 or send email to:

Board of Trustee Compensation
Trustee compensation is governed by Board Policy 9250 and in accordance with the law.  Education Code 35120 section 3 states the following: (3) In a school district in which the average daily attendance for the prior school year was 60,000 or less, but more than 25,000, each member of the city board of education or the governing board of the school district who attends all meetings held may receive as compensation for the member’s services a sum not to exceed seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) in any month.

Capistrano Unified School District falls within this range for average daily attendance.

In addition, Trustees may be reimbursed for travel expenses incurred as part of their work to complete official District business and Trustees may purchase the same health and welfare benefits program as provided to all District employees.

The Board members of Capistrano Unified School District view this elected position, as one of service to the students and families, and they do this work in the spirit of volunteerism.

Back to Top